SPARTAN SHADOW 20 lb Weighted Vest Review: Specs & Fit

This SPARTAN SHADOW weighted vest review covers the black 20 lb configuration identified by ASIN B0D7F8NTPY. The product title explicitly states that a pair of curved weight vest plates is included, making this a clearer plate-based configuration than listings that leave the included load uncertain.

The source also describes a Velcro closure, elastic side adjustment, padding across the shoulders, torso, and back, a phone pocket, and listed dimensions of 21 x 13 x 2.5 inches. The biggest unresolved issue is the meaning of “adjustable weights”: the record does not provide the empty carrier weight, each plate’s weight, a minimum load, a maximum capacity, or supported loading steps.

Disclosure: FitGearPilot may earn a commission if you buy through an affiliate link in this article. This is a source-based review of the supplied product record and seller gallery; FitGearPilot has not worn, weighed, or performance-tested this vest.

Quick take

The SPARTAN SHADOW 20 lb listing has a straightforward feature proposition: a black vest, an advertised curved plate pair, removable plates, body-fit adjustment, padding, and a phone pocket.

What remains unclear is how much flexibility the plate system actually provides. Removing plates is supported by the care instructions, but the source does not establish the carrier’s empty weight, individual plate weights, or the loading arrangements the manufacturer intends users to choose.

The fit documentation is similarly incomplete. The seller describes an XS-to-XL adjustment range, but no chest circumference, torso range, shoulder adjustment measurement, or minimum/maximum usable strap range is supplied. The listed 21 x 13 x 2.5 inch dimensions are product dimensions, not a substitute for a wearable size chart.

Exact configuration reviewed

Specification Supplied information
Brand SPARTAN SHADOW
ASIN B0D7F8NTPY
Configuration Black; listed 20-pound curved-plate configuration
Included load Product title states a curved weight plate pair is included
Listed item weight 20 pounds
Listed dimensions 21 x 13 x 2.5 inches
Material wording Nylon in specifications; 500D Cordura in feature copy
Closure Velcro
Fit adjustment Seller describes XS-to-XL adjustment plus an elastic side strap
Padding Shoulder, torso, and back padding
Storage Phone pocket mentioned in the title
Care Remove plates, hand wash with soap, and hang dry

Curved plate pair included

The clearest part of this listing is the included plate pair. The title states that curved weight vest plates are included, the specifications repeat that this is the curved-plate 20-pound style, and the cleaning instructions tell the owner to remove the plates before washing.

Black SPARTAN SHADOW vest worn over a blue shirt with an inset showing two curved yellow plates
The seller gallery depicts the vest with a curved plate pair, consistent with the product title.
SPARTAN SHADOW infographic showing a black vest and two gold-colored plates labeled as a 20 lb combined configuration
The gallery labels the vest-and-plate setup as a 20 lb configuration; the source still does not state each plate’s individual weight.

The separate included-items field is empty, so the supplied evidence does not establish a complete accessory list beyond the advertised vest and plate pair. Additional accessories should not be assumed.

What “adjustable weights” does—and does not—establish

The title uses the phrase “adjustable weights,” and the plates are removable. That proves the load is not permanently fixed inside the carrier.

It does not establish the available load settings. The record gives no empty carrier weight, no individual plate weight, no minimum load, no maximum plate capacity beyond the selected 20-pound listing, and no step-by-step loading chart.

Dividing 20 pounds by two would be an unsupported inference because the listed 20-pound figure may describe the complete assembly rather than the plates alone. The source does not explain the convention used.

The curved shape is likewise a listed design feature rather than proof of comfort. Plate dimensions, curvature measurements, and plate material are absent, so compatibility with other plates or a particular torso shape cannot be established from this record.

Fit adjustment: XS–XL claim without measurements

The seller describes XS-to-XL adjustment and an elastic side strap, with Velcro used as the closure. Those are source-backed fit features.

Rear view of a person wearing a dark SPARTAN SHADOW vest with broad shoulder sections and side straps over a white T-shirt
The rear gallery view shows broad shoulder sections and side adjustment hardware, but not a measured body-size range.

The missing measurements are important. The source provides no minimum or maximum torso circumference, no chest range, no shoulder-adjustment range, and no guidance showing how the XS-to-XL label maps to body measurements.

The listed 21 x 13 x 2.5 inch dimensions also need to be interpreted carefully. The record does not explain how they were measured, and they are not equivalent to a wearable chest or torso range.

Padding and movement claims

SPARTAN SHADOW describes padding across the shoulders, torso, and back. The seller also claims even weight distribution, reduced chafing, and no movement when the vest is properly adjusted.

Close-ups of the vest's shoulder straps, waist adjustment area, and mesh-covered interior padding
The seller gallery shows shoulder, side-adjustment, and padded-interior details.

The padding locations are supported by the listing, but the performance claims are not independently established. There are no supplied pressure measurements, fit trials, movement tests, padding-thickness specifications, or walking observations.

The compact-carrier claim belongs in the same category. The seller presents the shape as easier to move in, but the source contains no comparative range-of-motion testing.

Front, back, and angled mannequin views showing the torso coverage and side profile of a black SPARTAN SHADOW vest
The mannequin views show the vest’s compact torso coverage; they do not establish freedom of movement for a particular wearer.

Phone pocket: useful feature, missing compatibility data

A phone pocket is explicitly mentioned in the product title. That makes storage part of this exact configuration rather than a generic family-level feature.

The source does not provide the pocket’s usable dimensions, exact position, closure mechanism, water protection, or compatibility with a particular phone size.

If the phone pocket matters to your purchase, its internal measurements should be compared with the dimensions of your phone while it is inside its normal case.

Material wording: nylon vs 500D Cordura

The structured specification field identifies nylon, while the feature copy describes 500D Cordura.

Those descriptions may be compatible, but the source does not explicitly map one field to the other or identify separate panels. This review therefore preserves both descriptions without silently turning them into a more specific fabric construction.

The seller also makes durability and breathability claims. No abrasion test, seam-strength data, breathability measurement, or long-term owner evidence is supplied.

Care: remove plates, hand wash, hang dry

The cleaning instructions are comparatively clear: remove the plates, hand wash the vest with soap, and hang dry it.

That means the supplied source does not support machine washing. It also does not provide a drying-time estimate, detergent specification, detailed plate-care process, or maintenance schedule.

The captured listing advertises a 30-day satisfaction or money-back return offer. That is historical seller wording from the source snapshot, not verification of the terms that will apply to a future order. Current return conditions should be checked at purchase time.

Walking, rucking, running, and training claims

Walking and rucking appear in the title, while the attributes also name running, strength training, and workouts. These are intended-use descriptions.

The source does not establish that one fit or load arrangement is appropriate for every activity. It also does not establish seller claims about strength, speed, endurance, reduced chafing, or athletic improvement as measured outcomes.

No source evidence here establishes an appropriate personal load, wear duration, or progression schedule. Those decisions should not be inferred from the listing’s marketing language.

What to verify before buying

  • Exact identity: confirm ASIN B0D7F8NTPY and the black 20 lb configuration.
  • Included load: confirm that the curved plate pair is included in the selected offer.
  • Weight breakdown: obtain the empty carrier weight and each plate’s individual weight.
  • Supported settings: ask which plate/loading configurations the manufacturer permits.
  • Fit: obtain torso/chest measurements and the usable adjustment range behind the XS-to-XL claim.
  • Plate compatibility: request plate dimensions and material if replacement or alternate plates matter.
  • Phone pocket: confirm usable dimensions, location, and closure for your device.
  • Purchase terms: verify current return, stock, price, and shipping details.

Verdict

The SPARTAN SHADOW B0D7F8NTPY listing is strongest where the source is concrete: black 20 lb configuration, curved plate pair included, removable plates, Velcro closure, elastic side adjustment, padding, a phone pocket, and a defined hand-wash/hang-dry process.

Its main limitation is incomplete specification detail. “Adjustable weights” does not come with a documented loading range, the XS-to-XL fit claim lacks measurements, and the phone pocket lacks compatibility dimensions. Those points should be confirmed before the product is treated as fully specified for a particular buyer.

FitGearPilot also maintains a product reference page for the SPARTAN SHADOW 20 lb curved-plate vest. For broader context, see Walking weighted vest guidance.

Check the exact SPARTAN SHADOW listing on Amazon and confirm the included pair, weight breakdown, measured fit range, phone-pocket dimensions, and current purchase terms before ordering.

Frequently asked questions

Does the SPARTAN SHADOW 20 lb listing include plates?

Yes. The supplied product title explicitly states that a curved weight vest plate pair is included.

How much does each plate weigh?

The supplied record does not state each plate’s individual weight, so it should not be calculated by simply dividing the 20 lb listing figure by two.

What size range does the vest support?

The seller describes XS-to-XL adjustment, but the supplied source does not provide a measured torso or chest range.

Can the vest be machine washed?

The supplied instructions say to remove the plates, hand wash with soap, and hang dry. They do not support machine washing.

Scroll to Top